The AgirOrbit team attended the various Agricultural Writers SA regional award functions that recognise the exceptional achievements of agriculturalists, commercial and emerging farmers. Award ceremonies were held in three regions namely the northern, central and Western Cape regions.

Winners in each region were recognised for their contribution to the local agri sector and food security. The regional winners progress to the national round where the national winners will be announced on 10 November 2017 at the Agricultural Writer SA awards function that will be held at the University of the Free State in Bloemfontein. The following role-players were acknowledged in the various categories for each region: 

Northern region

Agriculturist of the Year

Gauteng: Dr Koos Coetzee

Limpopo: Dr Elsje Joubert

North West: Dr Annemie Erasmus


New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture

Gauteng: Dr Brylyne Chitsunge (Elpasso Farms)


Farmer of the Year

Gauteng: Vito Rugani (Greenway Farms)

Limpopo: Piet Engelbrecht (Piet Engelbrecht Trust familie-boerdery)

KwaZulu-Natal: Xolani Gumede (Cappeny Estates)

Central region

Nominees Agriculturist of the Year in the central region and sponsor. From left is Benna van Wyk, Monsanto, Johan van den Berg, Free State, Henriëtte van den Berg, Ansie and Dup Haarhoff, Northern Cape. Photo: Marleen Smith.

Agriculturist of the Year

Free State: Johan van den Berg

Norther Cape: Dup Haarhoff


New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture

Mojela Solomon Mosoeu


Western Cape region

New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture

Warren Bam


Agriculturist of the Year

Western Cape: Dr Johann Strauss

Eastern Cape: Jeff Every 


Farmer of the Year

Western Cape: Charles Back


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here