On Friday, 28 September 2018, the Agricultural Research Council (ARC) held its award ceremony for the ARC National Beef Performance Awards for 2018. The primary aim of the awards is to acknowledge farmers that have excelled in line with the ARC’s vision. Categories included Best Elite Cow Awards, Platinum Bull Awards and National Mentor of the Year, among others. The president of the ARC, Dr. Shadrack Moephuli, gave the welcoming speech and the deputy director general of the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF), Mr. RM Ramasodi gave a keynote address on behalf of the director general. Below is a list of the winners of the 2018 beef awards. – Ntswaki Motaung, AgriOrbit

The ARC National Best Elite Cow Awards:

The ARC National Platinum Bull Awards:

The ARC National KyD Province of the Year Award:

The ARC National Emerging Beef Farmer of the Year Award:

The ARC National Mentor of the Year Award:

The ARC National Commercial Beef Producer of the Year Award:

The ARC National Special Performance Test Class:

The ARC National Beef Cattle Improvement Herd of the Year Award: