Following an extensive national sampling process and data analysis, the finalists in the annual Santam Agriculture National Silage Competition have just been announced. This year’s competition is the sixth of its kind and is one of the flagship projects in the Plaas Media stable. The competition is supported by the company’s media platforms, Veeplaas, Stockfarm, Grootplaas, RSG Landbou and as well as its annual expo, ALFA.

The number of entries received this year was the highest to date, with a total of 89 bunkers and/or silage bags from 72 farms entered in three categories – maize silage, feed sorghum silage and oats silage. Sampling was done by the University of the Free State and the laboratory analyses were done by Labworld. The results were checked and verified by Prof Robin Meeske of the Outeniqua Research Farm, and chairperson of the competition’s protocol committee.


The winners in the three categories will be announced on 19 September during ALFA 2019, when the competition will be officially concluded with a conference during which the results and data will be discussed. The Santam Agricultural National Silage King will be announced at the ALFA gala dinner that same evening.

The finalists, in no particular order, are:

Category: Maize
  • Kameeldrift (Pty) Ltd, Bossie Pretorius
  • MD Foundation, Stefan Pretorius
  • Westend Landgoed, Werner le Roux       
  • C Nel Boerdery, Corrie Nel
  • Limpopo Dairy, Joubert Fourie
  • PD Hauff & Son (Rockfontein Farm), Matthew Beauclerk
  • JH Neethling Boerdery, Neels Neethling 
  • Jacobsdal Dairy, James Sutherland
  • Just Milk, Steve Moss
  • Simpson & Son, St John Simpson
Category: Oats
  • Duiker Boerdery, Gert van Dyk
  • De Draay, Awie Erasmus
  • Kluitjieskraal, Arno Schoonwinkel
  • Droëvlei Boerdery, Coenie Basson
  • Dasvlei, Johan Mostert
Category: Feed sorghum
  • JCM Farming, Cliff Milton            
  • Hurwitz Farming, Jarren Hurwitz (two entries among finalists)     

The finalists were entered by Kemin, Afgri Animal Feeds, Nutribase, Budissa, Meadow Feeds, Pannar, Leading Edge, Barnlab, Greenstar Contracting, TWK and one individual entry, Limpopo Dairy. This year’s competition was especially tough and besides the record number of entries, the points awarded were higher than last year across the board. Several entries were also received from previous participants who support the competition year in and year out.

The competition’s name sponsor is Santam Agriculture and this year’s prize sponsors are Pannar, Strapping & Profile and Nutribase.

Watch the press for more information regarding this year’s winners and how they performed. The announcements will be made on Plaas Media’s platforms.


Lynette Louw at 084 580 5120 or email or Richardt Venter at 083 590 3014 or epos