The minister of agriculture, land reform and rural development, Thoko Didiza, has appointed the interim board of the Onderstepoort Biological Products (OBP), following the expiry of the term of office of the current board on 31 July 2020.

The minister has appointed the interim board in terms of Clause 7.1.2 the Memorandum of Incorporation of the OBP, read together with Section 66(4)(a)(i) of the Companies Act, 2008 (Act 71 of 2008). The board shall consist of seven members as required by the Onderstepoort Biological Products Incorporation Act, 1999 (Act 19 of 1999).

The following seven members will serve as the interim board:

  • Dr Boitshoko Ntshabele (interim chairperson).
  • Dr Manishree Jugmohan-Naidu (member).
  • Tshililo Ramabulane (member).
  • Dr Charlotte Nkuna (member).
  • Dr Pieter Vervoort (member).
  • Yaasir Haffejee (member).
  • Fulufhelo Mphuthi (member).

Allegations of mismanagement

This interim board consists of the abovementioned seven members, five members who served on the previous board and two additional members. Their urgent mandate is to finalise the current audit process and to compile the close-out report.

The minister also wishes to assure all stakeholders and members of the public that the process to appoint the new board is at an advanced stage and will be concluded soon.

“Following allegations of mismanagement and wrongdoing within the OBP, I have tasked director-general Mdu Shabane to establish a process to ensure that all allegations raised by various stakeholders are investigated without fear or favour,” said Didiza. – Press release, Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development