The South African Society of Dairy Technology’s (SASDT) northern division held its AGM on 21 February at Clover Water, in Doornkloof East, Pretoria. The management committee was re-elected and is as follows: Deléne Boshoff, president, Christine Leighton, vice president, Stephan Steyn, treasurer, Lezel de Vos, secretary, and committee members, Janice Harmse, Jompie Burger, Neels de Jager, Elna Buys, Adri Venter, Jenny Lombard, Wayne Witthöft.

A highlight of the event was a tour of the Clover Water factory where members of the dairy industry saw a bottled water operation.

Wayne Witthöft gave an insightful talk on the dairy industry’s water footprint which is taken up by feed production, drinking water for cows and the milking and cleaning process among others. However, most of the water usage lies in crop production for animal feed. Witthöft emphasised the importance of all segments doing their part to reduce water usage. – Ursula Human, AgriOrbit