SACAU elects new board at AGM


The Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU) recently elected a new board at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) that was held in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe on 16 May 2018. Dr. Sinare Y Sinare from the Agricultural Council of Tanzania was elected as the new chairman of the board and president of SACAU. He replaces Dr. Theo de Jager who retired at the meeting, having served as the president of the organisation for the past five years.

Doreen Hlatshwayo from the Swaziland National Agricultural Union was elected vice president, a position hitherto occupied by Dr. Sinare. Alfred Banda of Farmers Union of Malawi was retained as an ordinary director, whilst Phineas Gumede of Agri-SA in South Africa joined the board as an ordinary director. Berean Mukwende of the Zimbabwe Farmers Union stepped down from the board.

Several resolutions were adopted by the AGM. These include the granting of honorary membership of SACAU to the outgoing chairman, Dr. De Jager and to Salum Shamte from Tanzania who retired from the board a few years ago. This honour is bestowed on individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the development of the organisation. In the same vein, honorary membership of Mr. Ajay Vashee (Zambia) and Mr. Douglas Taylor-Freeme (Zimbabwe), two former presidents of the organisation, was extended for a further period of five years.

Other resolutions adopted cover the amendments to the Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI), the appointment of new external auditors, increasing the number of elected board of directors from the current four to five, as well as the adoption of key messages that emanated from the annual conference which preceded the meeting. Uniao Nacional de Camponeses of Mozambique will host the 2019 AGM.

The AGM is the organisation’s biggest and most important governance event on its annual calendar. -Press release